Thoughts on blogging

Writing is hard. Writing about technical topics is harder.

Great writing demands clarity and conciseness when expressing ideas. This is especially important when discussing technical topics with a varied audience that might include non-technical readers.

This blog began as a requirement for Dev Bootcamp. It was intended to be the beginning of an online presence and a means to display the technical skills I’ve acquired over the many phases of the program. But it has since become much more than that. I use this blog as a tool to practice my own creative writing. I use it as an outlet to teach others. I use it to learn how to build from scratch. While remaining mostly technical in subject matter, this is a blog that is really teaching me how to blog.

While it seems trivial in theory, producing great content for a blog is a challenging skill to master and requires much practice. If you do not already have a blog to which you contribute regularly, I suggest choosing a topic that interests you and getting started. Expect to make mistakes, trudge through some dry topics, and be dissatisfied with early drafts. It’s all part of the process. But keep at it (as I will) and you may discover a passion for expression in one of its simplest and most elegant forms.

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

I am the 2%

It is often difficult to express the feelings of discouragement, detachment, isolation, and self-doubt that come with being the anomaly of the tech industry. After a career of 4+ years at giant Silicon Valley tech companies, where racial... Continue →